Discover the Importance of Waiting on God

wowBy Vance K Jackson

Choose to pray, seek God’s face and then wait for instruction

“Wait on the Lord: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the Lord.” (Psalms 27:14)

Choose to wait on God. Be of good courage and wait upon the Lord. According to The Strong’s Concordance, the word “Courage” means, “to be strong or to grow strong”. You’ll grow strong while you’re actively waiting upon the Lord. Waiting does not mean that you’re stagnant, it means that you’re trusting God’s work in you and allowing Him to develop through you.

The Lord will strengthen your hands and guide your feet as you surrender to Him. He will steer your ship as you wait upon Him for instruction. When you wait upon The Lord, He will guide you and strengthen every area of your life. Your leadership skills are founded upon waiting on God. Choose to pray, seek God’s face and then wait for instruction. Obey His Voice and He will lead your path.

I’m Sending The Ravens

“And it shall be, that thou shalt drink of the brook; and I have commanded the ravens to feed thee there.” (1 Kings 17:4)

God will send the people, processes and platforms to feed you, protect you and to sustain you — they will not know why. You’ll find favor with people in places who don’t understand why they like you or your idea. You’ll find favor with processes that will work out for your favor. You’ll have access to platforms and territories where others have found to be ravenous, but you will find them to be plenteous. Just as God commanded the ravens to feed the prophet Elijah, listen to the Voice of God and get fed by ravens — your feeding process is not going to look the same.

Wait Upon The Lord

“But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.” (Isaiah 40:31)

Waiting takes practice, patience and maturity. It requires your trust in God. When you wait upon the Lord He will without doubt strengthen you. When you rest in God’s response you are trusting in His ability to mold you into the leader that He’s Called you to be. When you are in Christ you are restored and renewed — you will not faint. Trust God and in His Process and you shall run and not grow weary. Trust God.

Be Strong

“Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.” (Joshua 1:9)

Remind yourself that God has called you to be strong in Him. Your power comes from Him. Your strength comes from Him. Rely totally on Him. Don’t be dismayed, God is with you wherever you go. It may not “feel” like He’s walking or running with you at certain times — but He is there. Trust Him. Trust the process and know that He is positioning you for success and not failure. When your strength is in God and not in your own capabilities, He’ll lift you up beyond your capability, comprehension and connection.

You were built for His Glory. He wants to showcase you to the world — if you’ll allow Him to. He wants to reveal Himself to you and through you. ‘Self’ must die and God must be glorified through your actions. Flesh cannot go into the promotion. Selfish ambition cannot go into the Harvest season. Pride cannot enter into the Promise. As God’s child, you must stay steadfast and be determined to focus on Him even when the storms of life attempt to rock your ship. When your ship is held by God, He will not let you sink. Trust God.

No Fear

“For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.” (2 Timothy 1:7)

Trust God without fear. “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” (Hebrews 11:1). Your faith is not fear. Faith is substantive. Fear is relative. Faith is secured by God’s Hand. Fear is trusting in your own abilities. God’s Word is filled with promise. It’s up to you to take hold onto every Word declared by God and not to trust in your own capabilities and understanding.

And Jesus answered him, saying, It is written, That man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word of God.” (Luke 4:4 ). Choose to trust His promises. Choose to Trust God’s Word. For God did not create you with the spirit of fear, so don’t entertain or be entangled with it’s venomous poison. Fear will paralyze you and inhibit you from pursuing the promises of God. As God guides your ship, It is critical to take hold of His promises. You choose.

No Weapon Formed

“No weapon that is formed against thee shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against thee in judgment thou shalt condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their righteousness is of me, saith the Lord.” (Isaiah 54:17)

God did not say that the weapon will not form — His Word states that it will not prevail. The weapons and threats that the enemy forms will not succeed or prosper. The enemy’s time is up when God says it’s up. God has shielded you with His Glory and protection, “Hast not thou made an hedge about him, and about his house, and about all that he hath on every side? thou hast blessed the work of his hands, and his substance is increased in the land.” (Job 1:10) .

The enemy can only cross certain borders and God appointed access points, God knows your limits. Trust God and know that He’s got your ship and He will not allow you to fail, falter or sit by the way side. It’s your time to be directed by His Word. God will shield you and keep you out of harms way. Trust in His Word.

The Enemy Is Intentional

“When the wicked, even mine enemies and my foes, came upon me to eat up my flesh, they stumbled and fell.” (Psalms 27:2)

Even when your enemies try to come and eat up your flesh to devour you God will cause them to stumble. They will fall at the Hand of God. God will protect you before they can eat up your sustenance. God is with you. God is for you. He wants to steer your ship. Steer your ship by intentionally declaring the Word of God consistently over your life.

This article was written by Vance Jackson who serves on the leadership team of Word of Life Christian Ministries in Detroit, MI. Vance is a successful businessman, speaker and writer and leads Bible studies on topics ranging from Marriage to Faith, Family, Business, Stewardship, Emotional Healing and Leadership.


girl reading gif

As I sit at my computer while a coastal storm rages outside my four walls I think of the scripture that started my journey, “Return to your stronghold ….” and feel that is where I am, safe from the storm outside. I think this word I shared today is the best simple teaching on waiting on God that I’ve read in the nearly 4 years that I have been “waiting and waiting.” WAIT is the one word God has spoken to me a thousand or more times! As the years have moved forward with no real light at the end of the tunnel except God’s promise I’ve approached Him every way possible to get answers and try to speed up the process. I wore myself out trying to figure how I could make it happen sooner when all the time somewhere inside I knew I was just making it take longer with my complaints, tears, anger and fighting against it and God. In the pruning I’ve learned about trust, doubt, fear, patience, submitting, surrendering my way for God’s way and God’s love for me. I have learned to follow His lead into murky places where I can’t see the way. I’ve had many breakthroughs in my own character and I can say I am not the person I was 4 years ago but a better God version! But I still have a ways to go and I still don’t have my promise … but I know it is very near and I am feeling joy and anticipation in my spirit for the completion of this seasons move into my new life. Hope this word gives you some assurance and encouragement and new hope and faith in God for your promise, your crossing into the new season and land! Blessings!