YOU HAVE TWO CHOICES

by One Blue Horse

Ruth 1:16-17 16 But Ruth replied, “Don’t ask me to leave you and turn back. Wherever you go, I will go; wherever you live, I will live. Your people will be my people, and your God will be my God. 17 Wherever you die, I will die, and there I will be buried. May the Lord punish me severely if I allow anything but death to separate us!”

Ruth was saying, “I have given my life to you. Where you are called to go I’m going, where you lay your head I lay mine. Where you die I die. I have a blood covenant with you.”

Jesus may test our covenant with Him before putting us with a ministry or person He chooses and see how we do. Do we trust God enough to be in covenant with the person He puts us with? Will we follow that person wherever he goes in whatever situation he is in, be totally into the relationship with no Plan B? Until death do us part kind of covenant because those are blood covenants as we have with Jesus. We must say, “I die to all of me for you.”

In our covenant with God we should be able to say, “If all I ever do is sit under You it’s enough. If all I ever do is what you tell me to do it is enough.” If God puts us on hold for a season can we sit at His feet with no Plan B of our own? If you listen closely the Holy Spirit will tell you, “You have two choices; do it your way or do it my way.”

That was what the Holy Spirit said to me about four months after God gave me a Promise that would change my life and give me the desires of my heart. Everything that was to open the door to that promise fell totally apart and delay came. I always have a Plan B.

I was every kind of upset and immediately tried to figure out how I could make that door open sooner (Plan B). I was used to making things happen one way or another. I cried out to God and begged for answers and ways to force that door open and all He said was “Be patient and WAIT.” The door wasn’t locked and shut for ever, just for a season. So WAIT.

I hate waiting. I get upset waiting in line in a store or at a traffic light. I even get impatient waiting for water to boil! I admit it … I had no patience at the start of this waiting season. Unbeknownst to me, with my promise the Lord opened a long season of waiting, to teach me what I needed to handle the promise. I’m still on it nearly two years later!

As Bill Johnson says, “Sometimes the circumstance denies the very promise God has given you. You ask for an Oak tree and God just gives you an acorn. We don’t know how to stay encouraged when the answer or promise is a long time in coming. He will create detours around battles you cannot fight and win at the time. God is trying to grow us into the person who can handle the promise He has given us. The circumstance wakes us up to listen to God.

It was probably one of the few times in my life that I couldn’t do it my way. I couldn’t see this promise as something I couldn’t handle so there must be a way to get through that door. I tried Plan B, C and D but everything was blocked. I tried to get my old job or one like it back in the state I’d moved from. I tried other things to make enough money to move back to my state and wait there for work. I tried getting a job where I was living, in the same field … still nothing.

I know now and have to admit that my motive for a job was wrong. I had enough money to live for a while at least without a job. I just wanted to try to get that door open and surely more money would help!

I gave up on the jobs and started blogging and wrote some thoughts for a book but then when the door remained shut I started losing hope and desire to write anything. The area where you have no hope is a lie. In God we always have hope. The truth is; nothing will come our way that God doesn’t already have an answer for. Our promise is something God has already accomplished and worked out or He would not have given it to us.

warhorse3Another story from the same teaching as the quote above by Bill Johnson (Hope in All Circumstances) is about the War Horse. They love going into battle and when they hear the sounds of battle they run toward it. If their rider leaves them by a burning building they won’t move but stand their ground. They do not swerve or move away.

I have finally learned patience and trust in God and I want to be like that war horse and not lose focus or move from this place He has put me. No matter what distractions the enemy throws at me I will not swerve or sway from the course God has put me on. I no longer have a Plan B. I don’t need one because God has written my plan and worked it out.

And that comes back to Ruth. God had formed a covenant relationship between her and Naomi and she would not be sent away. That is how God wants us to feel about our covenant with Him; “If all we ever do is sit under Him and learn it’s enough. If all we ever do is what He tells us to do, a time of waiting that we don’t understand, it is enough.”

It is like the story of Mary and Martha. Mary sat at Jesus feet and listened to His Words while Martha rushed about doing things and she was offended by Jesus letting Mary sit there while she worked. It is more important to sit quietly and listen to what Jesus wants to teach us then to rush about trying to make things happen our way.

He has given us a promise for a job, a business, a ministry, a spouse, a child or whatever it is and He wants us to be ready to be in covenant with that promise. He wants to see how much we trust Him to let Him shape us into the person who can handle the promise without destroying it or ourselves.

I have been a prisoner of hope for nearly two years and I’ve learned more from being shut away the life I knew, following God’s direction on my study and who to trust in ministry and prophecy than I did in all the years before this.

Zechariah 9:12 Return to the stronghold, You prisoners of hope. Even today I declare That I will restore double to you.”

 

One thought on “YOU HAVE TWO CHOICES

  1. Pingback: Broken, coming before God | From guestwriters

Leave a Reply

