Whatever He says to you, do

“Whatever He says to you, do” (John 2:5)

There was a wedding in Cana and Jesus and His disciples were invited. When they ran out of wine the mother of Jesus asked Him for help with obtaining more wine. She had faith that Jesus would give them what they needed. She told the servants that whatever Jesus said to them they were to do. He turned water into wine and it was the best tasting wine of the whole banquet.

He is fully able to meet all of our needs just as easily as he made the wine.

We all face times when we have a need in our lives that we can’t fix. It could be money, health, wisdom, answers, emotional or spiritual healing, a job, friends, or a million other needs that happen to us along the way. Sometimes we cope with great needs that seem to have no provision or a crisis that seems to have no answer. When needs come, we can turn to Jesus for His favour to get through them. We must go to Him and tell him we have a need and ask Him to help us. The key is that whatever He says, we must do it.

The problem is we have our own idea as to what His favour should be like and how soon it should come and grow impatient when it doesn’t fit our time.

My pastor made a statement Sunday in regards to a word God had given them at the beginning of the year. It was that they were going to have “Accelerated Favour”. I wasn’t in the church then so I wondered what that meant.

I work in his office and he asked me to organize his past sermons, which are all hand written. So I decided I would type them out so they were legible for people wanting copies. He has very good hand writing especially for a man but I did have some ulterior motives too. I really enjoy his preaching and I thought what better way to catch up on the time I’ve missed then by typing them out. As I was going through them I saw one where he had referred to Accelerated Favour.

As I read through it I learned a little more about what it meant. Some of the people were having struggles and disappointments and they wondered where the favour was and what they’d done wrong. He mentioned Isaiah 55:9 “As the heavens are higher than the Earth so are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts higher than your thoughts.”

(To quote his words) “God’s ways are totally different from what we would like sometimes. So many of us wrongly believe that when things are difficult and hard and circumstances are against us … We must be out of God’s will and that His blessings are being withheld from us … But God in His love and great Mercy turns everything to our good. Many Christians still try to assess their Faith by how well they are doing or how they feel!”

If we read about the disciples we see they had many troubles along the way including beating, imprisonment, shipwreck, sickness and even death and we can see how Paul felt in II Corinthians 12:7-10 And lest I should be exalted above measure by the abundance of the revelations, a thorn in the flesh was given to me, a messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I be exalted above measure. Concerning this thing I pleaded with the Lord three times that it might depart from me. And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

It just always comes back to Faith and trusting God with every part of our life. Hebrew 4:16 says Let us approach the throne of Grace with confidence (AMP – fearlessly, confidently and boldly) so that we may receive Mercy and find Grace in our TIME OF NEED.

(Quote again) “It is by Faith we receive all the promises of God … believing in everything that God says regardless of how we feel about it. A good example given us is Abraham who received everything that God promised even through he had to wait for a very long time and the Bible says that Abraham grew stronger in Faith through waiting.”

I always think of Job. He had everything a man could want. Then he lost it all. He sat under a vine and wanted to die. We don’t know how long he sat out there but the Bible tells us that in the end of his waiting God restored everything to him and better.

I could see the Accelerated Favour in my own life this year. Even though I wasn’t in the church when they got that word I still received that kind of favour this year.

It was a terrible year. I had to give up my dream job, move to a place I didn’t want to be, I lost my husband a few weeks after moving to a town where I knew almost nobody and then my car broke down. I spent the last four years worrying and praying for my husband and sitting for days in the hospital with him as his health diminished steadily.

For a time I wanted to sit like Job under a bush somewhere and die because I could see no way my life would ever be good again. But Faith rose up and I knew that Jesus would not abandon me. He has promised He will never leave us and He if faithful to His Word. He began to show me what He had planned and what I should do and I did it. He has sent accelerated favour for me in so many ways over the last three months.

He was planning my life way ahead of me. He directed me to this town and a wonderful church where I have found a loving pastor and people who truly care about me. He provided a car that wasn’t just any car but the very one I had wanted for a long time for a price I could afford. The pastor says the car is my blessing and he is right. God has provided me with enough income to live without working full-time so I can serve Him through work at church where I was really needed. Now I have time to write my blogs and start a book that has been on my heart for years.

I will always miss my husband but Jesus has met my needs and He has given me a better life than I had before on a personal level. We may have to wait longer than we want but He is able to meet our needs far and above what we expect.

Thanks to Pastor Des Kranz for that teaching on Accelerated Favour because it helped me see what a great gift God has given me out of the ashes of sorrow and what we must do to receive that kind of favour.

Leave a Reply

