Between a rock and a hard place

rock and hard

You’ve probably heard people talk about being between a rock and a hard place … may even have felt that way yourself.

 The meaning for this phrase is “In difficulty, faced with a choice between two unsatisfactory options.” Well I know I’ve been there more than once and find myself there again.

 Many examples of whole populations being placed between a rock and a hard place abound in history. The present and future are not exempt.

I feel I’m between a rock and a hard place now and I’ve been stressing over it for weeks. My husband is in the hospital again. He’s getting better but now he feels uneasy about coming home to live alone in our house in town without me there. I work in a remote Aboriginal community and I’m expected to stay out on my job for several weeks at a time due to a large building project in my base community.

I can’t quit my job or we would have no income and have no savings to draw on. I can’t find a job in town that pays enough to afford the exorbitant rent there. We can’t afford to move some place cheaper.

But what if the rock and the hard place aren’t really what we think but an illusion put up by the enemy to make us fear taking a chance? There is the option of my husband coming up here and living in my tiny flat. I can look after him and work on a job I already have where God has put me to serve Him as well as make an income.

We have considered that option a rock out of fear of being so far from the hospital in town, 3 hours away. There is a clinic here and a doctor, equipment to do his blood tests and basic care. There is also the flying doctor service that can take him to town and the hospital if need be but still we have been afraid to trust that.

A conversation with one of his doctors today and a line of scripture sent by a friend opened my eyes and my mind to our rock and hard place. I saw God standing in the gap in that tight spot we are in. He raised His sword and touched the rock and it disappeared. It was an illusion keeping us from the obvious answer by fear.

We were both afraid to have him up here so far from the safety of the hospital. The hospital and doctors can’t keep him safe under their own power. I am not able to keep my husband well or alive with my own power. God is the only one who can keep us from harm and He can keep us safe any place on earth.

I believe that rock and hard place holds us prisoner because of fear of stepping into the unknown of trusting that which we cannot see or imagine. That is where faith must take control of our minds and we must be willing to shut our eyes and step forward trusting God to take our hand and lead us through the illusion that holds us back. “But Jesus looked at them and said, With men this is impossible, but all things are possible with God.” Matthew 19:26

The scripture my friend sent was: “And thine ears shall hear a word behind thee, saying, This is the way, walk ye in it, when ye turn to the right hand, and when ye turn to the left.” Isaiah 30:21

 

2 thoughts on “Between a rock and a hard place

Leave a Reply

