No Fear … God is always with you

It is the Lord who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed. Deuteronomy 31:8

One of our greatest problems is fear. With all the things happening in the world at this time people have cause for fear more than ever in their lives. What do we all fear … the future. We aren’t afraid of the past it is behind us. We don’t fear the present as much as what will happen next, that is the future.

When we think about the future we think of loss, pain and sorrow. We fear losing things, jobs, cars, homes people in our lives, finances our future itself. We fear physical pain, emotional pain and personal pain. Fear of failure, fear of losing friends, spouses, kids, animals, you name it fear is a great part of our lives. There is so much cause for fear they have come up with all sorts of “phobias” to cover them.

Fear is a universal problem. It hits us hard threatening to overwhelm us, to immobilize us totally. Fear, afraid, tremble, terror, terrified, dread, frighten and faint are repeatedly used all though the Bible. Well-known characters in the Bible suffered with fear like Abraham, Hagar, the Israelites, David, Solomon and Jeremiah to name a few. Many of the people in the Bible regarded as heroes shared the same fears that we do.

Fear is a normal reaction to things that happen. When it isn’t natural is if we don’t get over it and soon it is controlling us. When it becomes our way of handling everything then it is a problem.

Fear is the contradiction of faith. Faith says no matter what happens God is with me and He will get me through it. Fear says God isn’t big enough to help me with this. I am alone and helpless.

Fear is relying completely on your self to get through it and finding out you can’t do it, which then lets in even more fear. Fear has no place in the life of a Christian. A fearful response is never from God.

“You did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear,” Romans 8:15

“God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control,” 2 Timothy 1:7

I like the way the Message Bible states this next scripture because it speaks to me in a way I can understand on my own level of fear, which is ending up on the street broke and homeless. I fight it continually because I know it is wrong and I trust God with so much but fall short on the fear of being homeless. Growing up my family didn’t have much and my mother who was raised with money and finery had a problem with our poverty. Then in my first marriage I ended up homeless for a short time when my husband left me for another woman and wouldn’t let me into our house. It only lasted long enough to give me a real feeling for what being homeless would be like. No excuse to feel fear over it but maybe the reason.

5-6 Don’t be obsessed with getting more material things. Be relaxed with what you have. Since God assured us, “I’ll never let you down, never walk off and leave you,” we can boldly quote, God is there, ready to help; I’m fearless no matter what.
Who or what can get to me?
Hebrews 13:5-6 (Message)

Believing God is always with us, the promise of His presence will help with all fear. He says he will never leave you or forsake you. He won’t die like our friends; relatives, pets and He won’t leave us like our spouses or throw us out the door when He gets tired of us.

Think about that and let it go deeply into your soul: God is always with me. Therefore, I will not fear. We are always in His presence, there is no distance problem with Him. When my husband and I met on the internet we were never together in the flesh. We sent hundreds of emails and talked thousands of dollars worth on the phone. When we talked I could sort of feel his presence but when I hung up the phone I was a continent away from him and I couldn’t sense his presence at all. But God is present with us all the time, in the dark of night when we cry, at work when we take a blasting from the boss, when we are angry or sad, God is there no matter what.

“Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence: If I ascent to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there! If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me.” Psalm 139:7-10

Another of my favorites is, “What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?” Romans 8:31

“The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.” Psalm 34:18

Boy that is one I can testify to absolutely. God has been there for me through some pretty terrible things that I would not have survived otherwise.

God will never leave us or forsake us. He will always be there; He will always be working on our behalf even when you don’t see it! And even more to ponder is Christ Jesus who died and was raised (for us) is at the right hand of God, interceding for us. He knows all about us – every secret insecurity, every private struggle, every tear we shed – and he doesn’t condemn us but prays for us. That should cause your spirit to rise up in grateful confidence.

No matter what the news tells us, we have no need to fear. Our security is from God. Not the stock market, our career, our family or friends, our gated house, money in the bank or anything else. Our security is in God, the Creator of the universe and everything in it. Nothing is above Him or even close so what should we fear …

 

One thought on “No Fear … God is always with you

  1. Pingback: Stranded: Survival of the Fittest | My Message

Leave a Reply

