Our Freedom in Christ

ffe6d40d54ec8fed8797e0e51b35b6c5.jpg

I changed the look of my blog site today. I was torn between four different templates and then it was down to two and still I couldn’t decide. I left it in limbo and went to town for last-minute shopping. I go back to work tomorrow after two weeks off and I had so much to fit into today including house cleaning and the all important deciding which template to pick for my blog site!

I picked the one that looks like leather with frayed stitches along the top. It makes me think of Steinway and the Orient express and I have no idea why either one but it just does. The leather reminds me of the years I spent in the saddle riding the trails and moving cattle. I love the smell of leather and horse sweat and the squeak of the saddle out on the trail.

I still wasn’t sure about the template I chose so in the end I put some running horses in the background in honor of the brumbies that roam the desert where I work. I wrote a blog about them a while back and I have been watching their foals grow up so I think it is fitting.

There are three small herds between two of the communities where I work. Last year they just started crossing my path no matter what time I drove between the communities. It was at a period of my life when I was under a lot of stress and just the sight of them would make my day improve. I think God had something to do with the timing and I thank Him for that. He knows how I love and miss all the horses I’ve had in my life and seeing those wild brumbies really gives me joy.

As I thought about the decision for which design to use for my blog site I realized I was restraining myself and that was silly. I could use any design I wanted, it was my blog site. It didn’t have to please anyone but me. It could be personal, it could be me. God has set me free to follow my heart and His leading and He trusts me to make right decisions. It may sound like a simple thing but I learned something by it. I am free in Christ. Sometimes we restrict ourselves too much due to past teachings and experiences and we make ourselves unable to move forward in things that God would have us do.

Psalm 16:11 11 Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence is fulness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.

Psalm 19:14 14 Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord, my strength, and my redeemer.

 

Leave a Reply

