Calm Your Spirit and Quiet Your Soul

quiet soul

The psalmist says, “I have calmed and quieted my soul” (Psalm 131:2). In the multitude of my thoughts within me thy comforts delight my soul. (Psalm 94:19) In the day when I cried thou answeredst me, and strengthenedst me with strength in my soul. (Psalm 138:3) Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord, my strength, and my redeemer. (Psalm 19:14) Isaiah said, “In quietness and confidence shall be your strength” (Isaiah 30:15). The apostle Paul encouraged us to “aspire to lead a quiet life, to mind our own business” (1 Thessalonians 4:11).

Stillness, solitude, meditation, contemplation, praying the psalms, practicing the presence of God, and expressing the virtues are all ways to experience, here and now, that indeed we live and move and have our being in God and with one another.

Things do change, while the inner attitude of contemplative solitude and silence remains stable.

Find time to turn off your phone, calm your nerves, cast your cares on the Lord, and meditate in the field of His faithfulness.

 

5 thoughts on “Calm Your Spirit and Quiet Your Soul

    1. Thank you for looking at my blog. I’m so glad my simple words were something you needed. Praise God. As I was writing I wondered if anyone would get what I was saying, but if God inspires us to write, there is someone who needs to hear it. That is the awesome part of writing when God is involved. Thank you for telling me.

  1. Pingback: India Ink, Psalm 73 | Psalmslife.com

  2. Pingback: Psalm 1 | Apples O Gold

  3. Pingback: The Irony of a Soul at Rest | LifeVesting

Leave a Reply

