God is always right on time

Habakkuk 2:3

2 I will stand at my watch
and station myself on the ramparts;
I will look to see what he will say to me,
and what answer I am to give to this complaint.

The Lord’s Answer

Then the Lord replied:

“Write down the revelation
and make it plain on tablets
so that a herald may run with it.
For the revelation awaits an appointed time;
it speaks of the end
and will not prove false.
Though it linger, wait for it;
it will certainly come
and will not delay.

And that is the way it happened for me. I was waiting for months for the chance to come to apply for my job. I had been working as a temporary for nearly 7 months. I had my contract renewed once and it was running out before the job was finally advertised and I could apply. Finally I got the word from my boss but I still couldn’t apply until it hit the newspaper on Friday. Two weeks were given for people to apply and my time was running out.

I re-wrote my CV, honed it to all the perfection I could manage. Considering I’d been working in my job, the job that was advertised, for 7 months I knew I’d meet the all-important, critical “criteria”. Well I thought I would until my top boss called me after work hours to tell me he’d read my application and he was disappointed in my criteria part, that he’d hoped I’d write more details. I thought that a few lines for each would do, we were having an interview! After that I began to sweat.

I don’t know about America or other countries but here in Australia they hire a lot of temporary people and then if they work OK they extend their contracts until they are ready to put the job out as a “permanent “ position and then you have to go through the same thing you did in the first place. Submit an application with all the points you feel makes you fit the criteria for the job and then wait to hear you have been short listed, all the while going out every day doing that same job. Then the interview finally comes with two of your bosses and a woman from somewhere else in the office who you barely know.

Then the wait while you wonder what the other applicants were like and what experience they had and if they are anyone from your office. There is no indication from your bosses about anything. Meanwhile your contract is down to less than two weeks.

During all this time I’m praying and praying and asking God to grant me favor with the people in the head office who are reading the applications and the words written about what was said at the interview. I’m running hot and cold. I want to be positive and trust God to help me. I’m sure He put me in this job so surely He will keep me in it. I still have so much to do.

Some days I’m sure the job is mine and it is silly to worry. The next day I’m begging God for help. Then toward the end when I’ve heard nothing and I only have a couple days until my contract ends I’m asking God for the courage to accept the decision if it against me. Then an hour or two later I’m sure I’m getting it.

On Friday, with one week left I run into my top of the heap boss, who has always been for me and even had me put his name on as a referee. He asks me how I’m doing and I say, “Good but I’d be better if I knew the outcome of the interview since my contract runs out next Friday. He didn’t know that and says I’ll see what I can find out, come and see me when you get off work. I go in an hour later and he tells me he has called the head office and spoken for me and he can’t tell me anything of course but, “be very confident.”

Now to everyone that sounds positive and it did to me too, for a while. I left home at 6:30 am on Monday morning to drive the three hours into the outback to the community I work at and of course I’m praying and wondering what the answer is going to be and asking God for help again. By Wednesday with no word I’m mainly asking God to help me accept defeat which I know is very unspiritual but we all do it.

Then suddenly sometime during that day I heard, “it waits an appointed time; wait for it; it will certainly come and will not delay.” I couldn’t quote the whole thing but I had it embedded in my heart from years ago when I was involved in a ministry that used that scripture as their foundation. I had trusted those words for more than 20 years. God will not be late but right on time.  With that came a peace and so much an assurance I’d get the job but a sense of joy whether I got it or not.

Thursday came and I had a lot of driving and work to do. I checked my e-mail before I left and no word. I thought, “God you are taking it right down to the wire, tomorrow is it, 7 hours and 21 minutes on Friday, 4:21 pm and it is over for me. But I still felt the joy and the peace. I had to drive two hours to one community to check on the six houses being refurbished and then back through to another community just getting started with some refurbish work. It was a long and tiring day but everything in the communities was progressing right on time. I was running out of time but not by God’s standards.

I was heading for my base community where there is a big microwave tower that gives us cell phones and internet service. I checked my phone for reception and nothing showed up so I sat the phone on the passenger seat and kept driving. I just laid it down and it started ringing. Still driving (dirt road so it’s OK) I picked it up and saw my immediate boss’s number and name. Well this is it.

I answered and he asked if I was still driving in and I said, “Yes”. He said he was giving the phone to my higher boss and I thought, “This is cutting it close”. This boss likes to make you wait so he asks me how far I am from my base, how did the day go and then, “the paper came from Darwin today and I tried to call you several times but knew you were in the field.

Finally he tells me that they have offered me the job if I want to accept it. Then he asks me if I want to accept it and I told him of course I did and he laughed a lot and said, “That is what I thought you would say.” By then I’d pulled the car over and was about to jump out of the car with joy. After I finished the conversation and shut the phone I started yelling and praising God and going wild with joy. I praised God the rest of the way home, thanking Him in every way I could.

So now I’m permanent and praise God for His perfect timing, right on time, His time!

Next blog: I’m seeing horses

Leave a Reply

